Declared plants

To protect Western Australian agriculture the Department of Primary Industries and Regional Development regulates harmful plants under the Biosecurity and Agriculture Management Act 2007.

Plants that are prevented entry into the State or have control or keeping requirements within the State are known as declared pests.

The Western Australian Organism List (WAOL) contains information on the area(s) in which a plant is declared and the control and keeping categories to which it has been assigned in WA.

If you need advice on declared plants please search for articles below in our website or:


  • The opuntioid cacti?(except for Austrocylindropuntia vestita,?Cylindropuntia californica

  • African clubmoss (Selaginella kraussiana), also known as Selaginella, or spreading clubmoss, is an invasive fern ally that forms extensive dense carpets in damp sites.

  • Mimosa, giant sensitive tree, catclaw plant or bashful plant (Mimosa pigra) is a declared pest in Western Australia (WA).

  • Sagittaria (Sagittaria platyphylla) is a declared pest in Western Australia (WA).

  • Ragwort, stinking willie, St James wort, tansy ragwort (Senecio ja

  • Physic nut,?Barbados nut, curcas bean, purge nut, purging nu

  • Kochia,?summer cypress?(Bassia scoparia) is a declared pest in Western Australia (WA).

  • Hydrocotyl,?water pennywort, hydrocotyle, floating marshpennywort, spaghetti weed, grote waternavel?(

  • Horsetail, common horsetail,?bottlebrush, field horsetail, horse pipes, mare's tail, snake grass, shave grass, scouring rush

  • Hoary cress, white weed, white top (Lepidium draba, formerly Cardaria draba) is a declared pest in Western Australia.